Pandora.com

My Job sucks. It sucks the life from me. It sucks the creativity from me. It sucks energy from me. It sucks. There are only a few things that make it worth while. One of them is Pandora.com. Thank god someone invented this. It might be one of the best things ever on the interenet.  Hard to believe this site has been around since 2000. It surprises me how many people don’t know about it.

With Pandora you can explore tons of music. Just drop the name of one of your favorite songs or artists into Pandora. It will scan its entire music library to find songs with interesting musical similarities to your choice. You can create as many “stations” as you want. 

About its name:
The name Pandora means “all gifted” in Greek. In ancient Greek mythology, Pandora received many gifts from the Gods, including the gift of music, from Apollo. And there you have it.


So easy to use.

Visit my website for more at www.dfxblog.com

~ by lance1977 on February 7, 2008.

One Response to “Pandora.com”

  1. Pandora is great… as far as it goes. I contacted them about adding classical music, including opera. I figured that if the program can identify and sort by tempi, styles, and genres for non-classical, it should be able to do it for opera and classical. After all, in christmas music, it brings up Placido Domingo and Pavarotti. Well, I got back a rather egregious explanation about how much more complicated those genres are. I think it translated to “We don’t like it, so we won’t take the time to do it”. Oh, well. I love Pandora, too. I hope you find a job you like someday, where you can enjoy both Pandora and your work.

Leave a Reply

 
